Instructional Team

Instructors: Winter 2023

Section B00: Professor Huihui Qi, huqi@eng.ucsd.edu

Section C00: Professor Jerry Tustaniwskyj, jtustaniwskyj@ucsd.edu


Teaching Assistants

Section B00: Brian Li, ymli@ucsd.edu

Section C00: Gaoweiang(Darren) Dong, gadong@eng.ucsd.edu


Email Etiquette

Please email both your section's Instructor and Teaching Assistant, and copy the rest of your team for project issues. In your email subject title, please follow the format "[MAE 156B]+ your subject.”


Engineering Staff

Edward Pogue, epogue@eng.ucsd.edu, Machine Shop in EBU2-333

    • Design, Data Acquisition, Machining and Aerospace guidance

Stephen Mercsak, smercsak@eng.ucsd.edu , Machine Shop ,EBU2 B35

    • Design, Machining and Welding guidance

Ian Richardson, irichardson@eng.ucsd.edu, EBU2-B30

    • Lab space, checking out equipment, general logistical support

    • Design and machining guidance

Thomas Chalfant, tchalfan@ucsd.edu, Machine Shop in EBU2-B35

    • Design and Machining guidance

Paul Arcoleo, farcoleo@eng.ucsd.edu, Aerospace Fabrication Lab in EBU2-127

    • Integration, simulation, and computation

Chris Cassidy, ccassidy@ucsd.edu, Design Studio in EBU2-315

    • Rapid Prototyping Lab (Lasercamm and 3D printer), mechatronics and design guidance

    • Each team can request acrylic from Chris for project use

Steven Roberts, steveroberts@ucsd.edu, Electronics Shop in EBU2-328

    • Electronics guidance

Administrative and Purchasing Assistant

Roxanne Vanderheiden, rvanderh@eng.ucsd.edu in EBU2 Business Office (1st Floor)